What We Are Listening To: “Girls” by Wheesung

Wheesung (Choi Wheesung) debuted with boy group A4 in 1999 and as a solo artist with YG Entertainment in 2000. Although his roots are in rock, he is known as a solid R&B artist. Wheesung also uses the stage name Realslow, and named his company such when he started it in 2017. 

“Girls” is from Wheesung’s 2010 CD Vocolate (an almagam of the words “voice” and “chocolate”). This album also highlights the continuing hallmark of Korean music artists working with African-American music producers: Vocolate features collaborations with Rodney “DarkChild” Jerkins and Ne-Yo. I was originally introduced to this song via Jonghyun (he was a fan of and worked with Wheesung). “Girls” made a recent showing on my YouTube random play. Add it to your work-out list to keep you going through those next-to-last rotation squats or that final treadmill level-5 incline run.


Wheesung-Topic. “Girls.” YouTube. 14 July 2014. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Gte–D_eLS0 (Accessed 9 Mar 2020).

#WheeWednesday: “With Me,” Wheesung (2003)

Crystal S. Anderson, PhD

Director, KPK: Kpop Kollective

At KPK: Kpop Kollective, we are all about K-pop music. Kaetrena writes about the musical influences on K-pop in her series Let KPK Introduce You To… In that vein, I’m starting a new series, #WheeWednesday, where I share music by some of the lesser-known K-pop artists as well as deep cuts from musical releases by K-pop’s more popular artists.

Since it’s called #WheeWednesday, its appropriate that the first song is from Wheesung (Choi Wheesung).

Source: wheesung.com

Wheesung debuted in 1999, the same year as another major Korean singer, Park Hyo Shin.  Unlike Park, Wheesung is known for choreography as well as hip-hop inflected tracks. He’s worked with other notable Korean R&B singers like g.o.d.’s Kim Tae Woo as well as veteran hip-hop artists like Masta Wu. Such collaborations show how easily he straddle genres in K-pop. His first album, Like a Movie (2002) was a straight-up R&B endeavor, solidifying his reputation as a vocalist. The intro not only features what will become his common shoutout using his stage name, “RealSlow,” but also announces that “you don’t know me yet.”

Here is your chance to get to know Wheesung! It’s a challenge to choose a representative song by Wheesung, since his work ranges from ballads to dance tracks. “With Me,” from the 2003 album It’s Real, shows off Wheesung’s strong vocals as well as his comfort with hip-hop rhythms and rap verses.

I hope you enjoy this track and see what else RealSlow has to offer!


Video: Wheesung – Topic. “With Me.” YouTube. 25 Apr 2018. https://youtu.be/F2Hms2TGzeA (19 Mar 2019).

Image: “bnt 화보 -13.” wheesung.com 20 Jan 2018. http://wheesung.com/photo_view.html?dummy=1553027451677 (19 Mar 2019).

Creative Commons License
#WheeWednesday: “With Me,” Wheesung (2003) by Crystal S. Anderson, PhD is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Wheesung: Slow Song Namja?

Wheesung: Slow Song Namja?

Wheesung (Choi Hwee Sung) is known for his penchant for R&B music. While he originally started his career as a part of the kpop group A4, Wheesung, debuted as a solo artist in 2002, signing with M Boat, a sister company with YG Entertainment. During his career, Wheesung won several awards for his soulful music. . . . Click here to read more at KPOPIANA!

SE7EN: You Can Bet On Him

Se7en (Choi Dong-Wook), KPOPIANA, http://kpoparchives.omeka.net/items/show/1092

Se7en (Choi Dong Wook) has been signed with YG Entertainment since he debuted in 2003. In addition to his Korean music career, Se7en has also debuted in Japan (2005) and has made in-roads in China and the United States. He is also known for his decision not to lip synch during live performances, and his dedication to music has been recognized via several awards, including numerous MNET and Golden Disc awards and a Seoul Music Award.

To see the enhanced profile, including discographies and videographies, click the image to go to KPOPIANA, KPK’s multimedia database on Korean popular music of the Hallyu era!


Click to jump to a section:







Credit: http://ygfambam.wordpress.com/yg-family/gummy/


Gummy (Park Ji Yeon)






Yg Entertainment

Fan Name


Origin of Fan Name


Official Website


Related Websites


Click to Return to Top


Official Fan Color:



  • 19th Golden Disk Awards: Bonsang
  • 2004 Mnet Km Music Festival: Mobile Popularity Award “기억상실” (Memory Loss)


  • 2010 Mnet Asian Music Awards: Best Vocal “남자라서” (Because You’re A Man)
  • 2010 Melon Music Awards: Best R&B Song “남자라서” (Because You’re A Man)

Television Appearances

Concert Tours

Click to Return to Top


If You Come Back

We Should Have Been Friends

Memory Loss


Childish Adult

I’m Sorry

There Is No Love

Because You’re A Man

We Should Have Been Friends

Click to Return to Top


Loveless- April 19, 20101. 그만 헤어져
2. Because of you
3. 사랑은 없다 (타이틀곡)
4. 남자라서 (타이틀곡)
5. 어떡해
6. 누구세요 (Feat.Bigtone)
Comfort- March 14, 2008

  1. Intro: Work it now (Feat. G-Dragon)
  2. Clap your hands (Feat. Perry)
  3. 미안해요 I’m Sorry (Feat. T.O.P)
  4. 사랑하지 말아요 (Don’t Fall In Love)
  5. 거울을 보다가 (Looking In The Mirror (Feat. Red Roc)
  6. Let’s Get It Party (Feat. 45RPM)
  7. 마지막 파티 (Last Party)
  8. 따끔 (Stings)
  9. 이별이 아니길 (Hope It’s Not A Good bye)
  10. I’m gonna miss u (Feat. Kim Ji Eun of Lady Collection)
  11. 여기까지만 (That’s All From Here Now (Feat. Skull)
  12. 환각 (Illusion)
  13. 음악이 끝나기 전에 (Before The Music Ends)
  14. 미안해요 (I’m Sorry) (Hare trance remix)
Unplugged- April 26, 2006

  1. 그대 돌아오면 (If You Come Back To Me)
  2. 친구라도 될 걸 그랬어 (We Should’ve Been Friends)
  3. 혼자만 하는 사랑 (Unrequited Love)
  4. 손 틈새로.. (Hands)
  5. 어른아이 (Childish Adult)
  6. 날 그만 잊어요 (Please Forget Me)
  7. 아니 (No)
  8. 하고 싶었어 (Wanted to)
  9. 기억상실 (Memory Loss)
  10. Dance Dance
  11. 나는.. (I Am)
  12. 부탁 (Request)
For the Bloom- September 1, 2005

  1. Gummitro
  2. Holic
  3. 손틈새로 (Hands)
  4. 아니 (No)
  5. 어른아이 (Childish Adult)
  6. 오늘은 헤어지는 날 (Today We Part Ways)
  7. Trap
  8. 평균 (Average)
  9. 혼자만 하는 사랑 (Unrequited Love)
  10. 실수 (Mistake)
  11. Secret
  12. 옷 (Clothes)
  13. 저기 가는 사람 (The Person Walking Away)
  14. Escape
It’s Different- September 4, 2004

  1. Gummy Skills (Intro)
  2. 하고 싶었어 (Wanted To)
  3. 내 곁에 잠이 든 이 밤에 (Sleeping Beside Me Tonight)
  4. 날 그만 잊어요 (Please Forget Me)
  5. 기억상실 (Memory Loss)
  6. Love Again (Feat. Ha Dong Kyun)
  7. Tonight (Feat. Wheesung)
  8. Dance Dance (Feat. Song Baek Kyoung of 1TYM)
  9. 그녀보다 내가 뭐가 (What Makes Her Better Than Me)
  10. So Much (Feat. Masta Wu)
  11. Witches (Doo-Loo-Wap) (Feat. Lee Eun Joo and Im Taebin of 1TYM)
  12. Round 1 (Feat. Jinu and Lexy)
  13. 인연 (Meant to Be)
  14. It (Don’t Matter No More)
  15. Singing My Blues (Outro)
  16. 날 그만 잊어요 (Please Forget me (Acoustic version) (Bonus Track)
Like Them- February 7, 2003

  1. 하고 싶은 말 (Words I Want To Say)
  2. 그대 돌아오면 (If You Come Back To Me)
  3. 친구라도 될 걸 그랬어 (We Should’ve Been Friends)
  4. Wanna Be
  5. 나는 (I Am)
  6. Do It
  7. 부탁 (Request)
  8. Phone Call
  9. 거기 그대로 (Stay There)
  10. 언제라도 (Anytime)
  11. 오늘도 온종일 (All Day Long)
  12. 가버려 (Go Away)

Click to Return to Top


Loveless- November 9, 2011

  1. I love you
  2. Love Recipe
  3. Sorry feat. TOP (BIGBANG)
    Ending track “Future Tracks → R” system ※ TV Asahi – November
  5. I want to forget
  6. Beautiful you

Click to Return to Top