Nell: The Language of Music


Nell is a rock band including Kim Jong Wan (vocals, guitar, keyboard), Lee Jae Kyung (lead guitar), Lee Jung Hoon (bass), and Jung Jae Won (drums). Originally an independent group signed with the Goesoo Indigene label, Nell is now signed with Woolim Entertainment. Nell is named after the movie starring Jodie Foster, and the critically acclaimed foursome has become known for their melancholic music, lyrical subject matter, and accompanying visual concepts. . . . Click here to read more at KPOPIANA



Click to jump to a section:







Photo Credit:
 Name Nell
 Meaning of Name They named themselves after the 1994 movie “Nell” starring Jodie Foster and Liam Neeson; Nell is a young girl raised in isolation who must interact with people for the first time – the group felt that they were doing something similar with their music career.
  • Kim Jong-wan (Vocals, Guitar, Keyboard, songwriter/composer)
  • Lee Jae-kyung (Lead Guitar)
  • Lee Jung-hoon (Bass)
  • Jung Jae-won (Drums)
 Debut   1999
 Status   Active
 Label  Goesoo Indigene (2002-2006); WOOLLIM Entertainment (2006-present)
 Fan Name N/A
 Origin of Fan Name N/A
 Fan Club Website(s)
 Related Websites [forum]

Click to Return to Top



  • 2007 Korean Music Awards: Best Modern Rock Artist of the Year Picked by Netizens (“Let’s Take a Walk)
  • 2008 23rd Golden Disk Awards: Best Rock Award
  • 2008 23rd Golden Disk Awards: Songwriter of the Year (Kim Jong-wan)

Click to Return to Top


Drifting Apart Ver. 1

Drifting Apart Ver. 2

Thank You


It’s Okay

Rain of Fallen Leaves

Lose One’s Mind


Good Night

Time Spent Walking Through the Memories


It’s That Anyway

Part 2

Click to Return to Top


   The Trace [CD & DVD] (Release Date: November 27, 2008) (Label: WOOLLIM Entertainment)

  1. Part 1
  2. Part 2
  3. Act 5
  4. Part 2 – Acoustic Ver.
  Drifting Apart [멀어지다] (Release Date: May 3, 2008)

  1. Drifting Apart [멀어지다]
  2. Will You Shut Up for One Minute [1분만 닥쳐줄래요]
  3. Separation Anxiety
  4. Moonlight Punch Romance
  5. Time Spent Walking Through Memories [기억을 걷는 시간]
  6. Promise Me
  7. 1:03
  8. Fisheye Lens
  9. Afterglow
  10. Tokyo
  11. 12 Seconds
  12. _ (Underbar) [언더바]
  13. Are You Over the Album? [혹시 앨범이 이상한가요?]
  Separation Anxiety (Release Date: March 21, 2008)

  1. Separation Anxiety
  2. Moonlight Punch Romance
  3. Time Spent Walking Through Memories [기억을 걷는 시간]
  4. Drifting Apart [멀어지다]
  5. Promise Me
  6. 1:03
  7. Fisheye Lens
  8. Afterglow
  9. Tokyo
  10. 12 Seconds
  11. _ (Underbar) [언더바]
   Let’s Take A Walk [acoustic album] (Release Date: June 25, 2007)

  1. Good Night
  2. The Salmon That Have Yet to Be [연어가 되지 못한 채]
  3. Untrustworthy Words [믿어선 안될 말]
  4. One Time Bestseller
  5. Stay
  6. Thank You
  7. It’s Okay
  8. The Regret [미련에게]
  9. Down
  10. White Dwarf [백색왜성]
  Healing Process (Release Date: September 21, 2006) (Label: Goesoo Indigene)Disc One

  1. The Reality of Reality [현실의 현실]
  2. Island [섬]
  3. Good Night
  4. Counting Pulses
  5. Yearning [그리움]
  6. Beautifu Day
  7. Healing [치유]
  8. Lose One’s Mind [마음을 잃다]
  9. Goodbye [안녕히 계세요]
  10. What Do You Think? [어떻게 생각해]

Disc Two

  1. Ice Walk [얼음산책]
  2. Meaningless
  3. Conversation with PM [오후와의 대화]
  4. A.S
  5. Limit [한계]
  6. 51 Minutes Ago [51분전]
  7. Movie
   Walk Through Me (Release Date: November 18, 2004) (Label: Goesoo Indigene)

  1. 迷我 (Lost) [미아]
  2. White Dwarf [백색왜성]
  3. Thank You
  4. Selfish love
  5. Unsaid
  6. Peter Pan is Dead [피터팬은 죽었다]
  7. Stay Broken at the Mouth [부서진 입가에]
  8. Experiences of the Reality of Mongjung [몽중인의 현실 체험기]
  9. Self-Inflicted [자해]
  10. Marionette
  11. Last Advice
  12. Once Time Bestseller
  13. Empty
   Let It Rain (Release Date:June 12, 2003) (Label: Goesoo Indigene)

  1. Song of the Ghost [유령의 노래]
  2. Cat [고양이]
  3. Stay
  4. It’s That Anyway [어차피 그런 거]
  5. The End of the Beginning [시작의 끝]
  6. Untrustworthy Words [믿어선 안될 말]
  7. Mermaids of the Stars [인어의 별]
  8. Rain of Fallen Leaves [낙엽의 비]
  9. The Regret [미련에게]
  10. Parasites [기생충]
  11. Eden
   Speechless (Release Date: September 28, 2001) (Label: Goesoo Indigene)

  1. My Reason
  2. A Little Sad Story [조금은 슬픈 이야기]
  3. Stay [말들어]
  4. Hourglass [모래시계]
  5. Wall [벽]
  6. Fool One Thousand and Four [바보천사]
  7. I’d Rather Love [차라리 그럴께]
  8. Rain of Fallen Leaves [낙엽의 비]
  9. Positive Song [양의 노래]
  10. Minus
  11. Selection [선택]
  12. Pay Back
  13. Mute [벙어리]
 Reflection of Nell (Release Date: January 19, 2001)(Label: Goesoo Indigene)

  1. Take Me With
  2. Untrustworthy Words [믿어선 안될 말]
  3. It’s That Anyway [어차피 그런 거]
  4. Garbage [쓰레기]
  5. You [넌]
  6. 2nd [두번째]
  7. Domestication [길들임]
  8. That Memory [그런 기억]
  9. Eden
  10. 4

Click to Return to Top